The smallest level of administrative control is the Municipio, which manage the everyday functions such as maintenance of local amenities, provision of local policing and refuse collection much as a district council would in the UK.

These local districts are normally named after the most prominent town within them, although the further south you go in Spain, you find that generally the Municipios get smaller and in fact only include one town.

Lanzarote has seven Municipios - shown below - which are surprisingly different in look, feel and even weather conditions.

Arrecife | Haría | San Bartolomé | Teguise | Tias | Tinajo | Yaiza

Privacy | Contact | Advertising | Links
© -All Rights Reserved.